"Ludwig van Beethoven" by Jan Marisse Huizing

Ludwig van Beethoven The Piano Sonatas; History, Notation, Interpretation Jan Marisse Huizing, Gerald R. Mettam

Publication date:
08 Feb 2022
Yale University Press
336 pages: 235 x 156mm
294 b-w illus.
Sales territories:

Buy this eBook

You can purchase this title from a number of online retailers:

A comprehensive and immersive survey of thirty-five Beethoven piano sonatas

Beethoven’s piano sonatas are among the iconic cornerstones of the classical music repertoire. Jan Marisse Huizing offers an in-depth study of the sonatas using available autograph and first editions and nearly three hundred musical examples. Digging into the historical background and historical performance practices of the piano sonatas, Huizing provides illuminating detail on Beethoven’s characteristics of notation, form and content, "types of touch," articulation, beaming, pedal indications, character, rubato, meter, metric constructions, metronome marks, and tempo.

Jan Marisse Huizing is a pianist and a former artistic director of the International Holland Music Sessions. Gerald R. Mettam is translator of The Cost of Sugar and Tutuba: The Girl from the Slave-Ship Leusden, both by Cynthia McLeod.